Arts & Culture South Orange

South Orange’s Downtown After Sundown Concerts Are Friday Night Only This Weekend

From the South Orange Village Center Alliance via the Village Vibe:

Nuevo flamenco artist Jonathan Fritz

We’ve got a great lineup on Friday night for Downtown After Sundown, which just happens to be the best summer downtown concert series ever! We only have concerts on Friday this weekend because we’re taking Saturday night off for Maplewoodstock!

On Sloan Street we’ve got Nuevo flamenco guitarist Jonathan Fritz who is both a passionate stage performer and sought after session guitar player from New York City. Jonathan travels the world playing for a wide range of audiences, including touring with superstars such as Lionel Richie and Richie Havens. He’s also played with some people that you may have heard of like John Mayer, Billy Joel, Van Morrison and Jimmy Buffet just to name a few. And Friday night he’ll be here in South Orange performing for us!

At Spiotta Park on Friday night we’ve got the Ally Mac Project with lead singer and keyboardist Allison McKensie.

Both shows start at 7 PM and run through 10 PM, so bring out those chairs, grab some food and spend some time in the Village Center for Downtown After Sundown.

Downtown After Sundown Full Schedule

South Orange Village Center Alliance invites you to dine and dance under the stars as we present Downtown After Sundown in the Live Music Capital of North Jersey. Join us under the Gazebo for Jazz on Sloan or in Spiotta Park where every style of music from acoustic to zydeco, jazz to flamenco will be represented.

Concerts kick off Memorial weekend through Labor Day, every Friday and Saturday evening from 7:00pm to 10pm.

Jazz on Sloan Schedule

(JULY)

Friday, July 13- Jonathan Fritz / Nuevo Flamenco Guitarist

Friday, July 20- Bob DeVos Trio

Saturday, July 21- Seyeon Chang Trio

Sunday, July 22- Carrie Jackson Old Fashion Sunday Jazz Jam

Friday, July 27- Dom Palombi Project

Saturday, July 28- Richard Reiter Jazz Band

(AUGUST)

Friday, August 3- Free Speech Trio

Saturday, August 4- Rafiki Jazz- featuring Norman Mann

Friday, August 10- Zach Brock Live

Saturday, August 11- TBA

Friday, August 17- Funky Organics

Saturday, August 18- Kate Curran Trio

Sunday, August 19- TBA

Friday, August 24- Phyllis Blanford and Friends

Saturday, August 25- Lynette Sheard Live

(SEPTEMBER)

Friday, August 31 – TBA

Saturday, September 1- Patricia Walton Jazz

Sunday, September 2- TBA

Sounds in Spiotta

(JULY)

Friday, July 13- Alli Mac Project

Saturday, July 14- No Concerts Tonight

Friday, July 20- Emotional Rex

Saturday, July 21- The Accelerators

Friday, July 27- Andy Lackow & Mess Around Blues Band

Saturday, July 28- Bindi Liebowitz

(AUGUST)

Friday, August 3- The New Watchdog Blues Band

Saturday, August 4- Michaela Mcclain Band

Friday, August 10- The Dangerous Gentlemen

Saturday, August 11- Ricky Persaud, Jr. Funk Rock

Friday, August 17- Flip Da Skrip

Saturday, August 18- Laredo the Band

Friday, August 24- TBA

Saturday, August 25- Mama D and the Vexations

(SEPTEMBER)

Friday, August 31- Forget The Whale

Saturday, September 1- Carlos Frias & Ci­rculo Social

Sunday, September 2 – TBA

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *