Arts & Culture Maplewood South Orange

The Columbian Wins 1st Place for 5th Straight Year From American National Scholastic Press Association

From The Columbian:

The Columbian staff, 2018-2019

Columbia’s School Newspaper The Columbian, won first place for the fifth year in a row in the national, annual competition held by the American Scholastic Press Association and also took home two additional designations to mark the publication’s best showing in years. The organization earned a “First Place with Special Merit” and the title of “Most Outstanding Newspaper 2018-2019” in the national competition. Judges noted the paper’s ability to “represent the school and local community in a fair and honest manner,” and their “fair and unbiased coverage of a wide variety of topics.”

The art/design team members for 2018-2019 are: Mary Arevalo, Quinn Barnitt, Derek Gutierrez, Kate Hollitscher, Dana Hugel, Charlie Hummel, Charlotte Levine, Gloria Logan, Matt McBride and Isaac Weber. The editorial board for the team are: Katherine Besom, Shayna Cohen, Marley Davis, Hannah Gross, Lucien Kisch, Sam Maidenberg, Katie Newman, Cailee Olitt, Sofia Ratkevich and Martina Zacker. Advisers for The Columbian are Joshua Enyeart (English Dept.) and Cindy Malhotra (Fine Arts).

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *