The Columbian of CHS Wins National School Journalism Awards

by The Village Green
0 FacebookTwitterPinterestEmail

The Columbian, the newspaper produced by Columbia High School students and academic advisors, has won the two national awards for high school journalism:

First Place in the 2014-2015 Scholastic Newspaper Awards by the American Scholastic Press Association (ASPA); and

Silver Medalist Rating by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association (CSPA)

The newspapers are critiqued in the areas of content coverage, page design, photography & illustrations, layout, editing and creativity. Each section can earn a ­certain number of points and the total of all those sections generate a final score. Final scores from each entry are compared to generate placings.

A comment in the judge’s summary from the ASPA stated, “You have an excellent school newspaper, which shows the creativity and journalistic knowledge of your editors, reporters, writers, photographers, layout/graphics designer and advisors. Congratulations to all on your first place award!

The 2014-15 production leaders of The Columbia were:

  • Deana Singleton & Max Kitibayashi (Co-Editors-In-Chief)
  • Sophie Fisher (Art Editor)
  • Olivia Levine (Photo Editor)
  • Ben Reichman & Alec Tyson (Design Co-Editors)

The 14-15 content editors were:

  • Tyler Farnsworth & Dylan Karten (News Co-Editors)
  • Siobhan Nolet (Opinions Editor)
  • Russell Pinzino (In-Depth Editor)
  • Calvin Yohannan & David DeFranco (Sports Co-Editors)
  • Edward Willshire (Arts & Entertainment Editor)
  • Delainey Fuschetto & Sabrina Rodrigues (Project Coordinators)

The 2014-15 designers were:

  • Khalid Young, Lellani Schultz-Joy, Fabriz Gauthier, Nick Carbonara, Alex Rafkin, Emre Yenigun (Designers)

Staff advisors to The Columbian are Joshua Enyeart (English Department) and Cindy Malhotra (Fine Arts Department).

Related Articles