South Orange-Maplewood District Reviews Draft 2017-18 Calendar

by The Village Green
0 FacebookTwitterPinterestEmail

 

The South Orange-Maplewood Board of Education got a peek at the preliminary 2017-18 school calendar at its October meeting (and you can give it a peek below).

Comments from the Board were minimal. Superintendent of Schools Dr. John Ramos noted that the Spring Break, slated for April 9-13, 2018, had been planned so as not to interfere with any scheduled tests, but could be adjusted if needed. (The break does not coincide with Easter which is April 1 or Passover which runs from March 30 to April 7.)

If the calendar is approved in its current form, school will begin on Wednesday, September 6 for grades K-7/9 and on Thursday, September 7 for grades 8/10-12.

Students will have off Thursday and Friday, Sept. 21 and 22 for Rosh Hoshanah; November 7 (Election Day) for Staff Development; November 9 and 10 for the NJEA Convention; and November 24 and 25 for Thanksgiving (with a half-day on the 23rd). There will be 4-hour days for elementary schools on November 29 and 30 due to evening conferences.

The last day of school before the Holiday break will be Friday, December 22 with school resuming on Tuesday, January 2.

Students will observe a day off on MLK Jr. Day, Monday, January 15. Winter Recess will include no school on Friday, February 16 and Monday, February 19. There will be a 4-hour day for elementary schools on February 28 due to evening conferences.

The district will be closed on Good Friday, March 30. Spring Break will close the district from April 9-13.

The only day off in May will be Memorial Day, Monday, May 28, unless the students earn a “give back” day (due to a lack of school closures) on Friday, May 25.

All students will have a 4-hour day on Tuesday, June 19. The last day of school is a 4-hour day on Wednesday, June 20 for K-7/9. The last day of school is a 4-hour day on Thursday, June 21, for grades 8/10-12.

Community members can comment on the draft calendar via the Let’s Talk communication tool here.

Download (PDF, 501KB)

Related Articles

CLOSE
CLOSE