Eight Express Interest in Two Spots on Maplewood Democratic TC Ticket

by The Village Green
0 FacebookTwitterPinterestEmail


Eight Maplewood residents — one of whom is already serving on the Maplewood Township Committee — have submitted letters of interest to be considered for endorsement by the Maplewood Democratic Committee in the June Primary Election for two seats on the Township Committee.

Those who submitted are Frank McGehee, Karen Pisciotta, Greg Lembrich, Tom Carlson, Nancy Adams, Kurt Kiley, MD Marguiles and Jerry Ryan.

Ryan currently serves on the Township Committee with his term set to expire this year. Carlson is the Chair of the Maplewood Planning Board. Adams serves on the Planning Board. Kiley has run for election to the Township Committee previously but unsuccessfully.

The endorsement of the Maplewood Democratic Committee has become a de facto announcement of the election winners in recent years: No Republican has been elected to the Maplewood Township Committee since 1991. In fact, the last Republican to serve left office in 1994. It’s an interesting turn of events since Maplewood’s leadership was solidly Republican for decades before the early 1990s.

Former Mayor Fred Profeta revealed the names on MaplewoodOnline prior to the Saturday, Feb. 28 midnight deadline for submitting letters of interest to the MDC. Maplewood Democratic Committee Chairman Ian Grodman confirmed the names but said he was waiting for the deadline to pass before making an announcement in case of withdrawals.

March 30, 2015 is the Filing Deadline for Democratic and Republican Candidates wanting to run in the June 2, 2015 Primary Election. Candidates must file with the New Jersey Division of Elections.

Grodman put out a call for names earlier in the month when Deputy Mayor Kathleen Leventhal announced that she would not seek a fifth term.

This story will be updated as more information becomes available.

Related Articles