PHOTOS: Winners of First Annual SOMA Film Festival Announced

0 FacebookTwitterPinterestEmail


From a press release:

The “best of” winners of the inaugural SOMA Film Festival have been announced by festival organizers.

The SOMA Film Festival offered a full slate of groundbreaking feature and short films at the South Orange Performing Arts Center (SOPAC) on the weekend of Sat., Feb. 13 and Sun., Feb 14. Sunday morning’s presentations played to a full house, featuring selections of various films from the categories of Narrative Shorts, Documentary, Action, and Animated Shorts, all produced by local talent.

SOMA Film Festival winners are as follows:

Best Feature Narrative and Best Screenplay: HAZE

Haze by David Burkman is a film about a college freshman’s desire to join the best fraternity on campus and the sadistic lengths to which the young will go to belong.


Australian director Heath Davis won “Best Director” in a narrative feature for his film Broke about a disgraced sports star that earns a second chance through the support of his number one fan.

Best Picture, Documentary Feature: IN TRANSIT

In Transit by Albert Maysles, Lynn True, Nelson Walker, Ben Wu, and David Usui won for “Best Picture.”

Best Director, Documentary Feature: HEMAL TRIVEDI AND MOHAMMED ALI NAQVI

Directors Hemal Trivedi and Mohammed Ali Naqvi won for their documentary, Among the Believers.


First time directors Randy Yang of Video, and Vic Campos of Hamell on Trial both won for “Best Short” in narrative and documentary.

Haze director David Burkman commented on Facebook, “This is so exciting. We are honored. Such a great festival! Thank you all!”

SOMA Film Festival director Matt Smollon added, “picking this years winners was no small task. We had a great slate of films to choose from and congratulate all the winners, and all the films and filmmakers that made our first year a great success.”

Click on any image to enlarge.

Related Articles