Maplewood Democratic Cmte. Chooses 3 Candidates to Fill Brownlee’s Term

0 FacebookTwitterPinterestEmail

The Maplewood Democratic Committee (MDC) has selected Amy Jo Curran, Ian Grodman, Garnet Hall to fill out the remaining three months of Marlon K. Brownlee’s term on the Maplewood Township Committee. The other two who were considered and also had great support were Craig Goldstein and Kurt Kiley.

Brownlee announced on August 2 that he will be resigning from the Township Committee, on which he has served for two terms. His will serve through August 31, 2016. Brownlee had said in February that he would not run for a third term; he would have served through the end of the year.

The TC now has 15 days to select one of the three candidates to replace Brownlee; that person will serve from Sept. 1 – December 31, 2016.

In terms of who will fill Marlon’s seat for the upcoming term, Democrat Frank McGehee and Republican Mike Summersgill each won their respective primaries to be on the ballot in the November 8 general election. Whoever wins the election will take the seat on January 1, 2017, said Ian Grodman, chair of the MDC.


Related Articles