Columbia High Newspaper Wins National Award 2nd Year in a Row

0 FacebookTwitterPinterestEmail

From the South Orange-Maplewood School District:

Columbia High School’s student newspaper, The Columbian, has won the first place award for the second year in a row in the national competition held by the American Scholastic Press Association.

The yearly competition judges student-run publications across the country for content and design. It awards points across a variety of sub-categories like depth and quality of reporting, adherence to journalistic standards and ethics, as well as overall appearance of pages and creativity of layout and design.

The Columbian Staff The Columbian is an extra-curricular student-run publication working in concert with two classes, Production Journalism 2 and Journalistic Writing.

The ’15-16 editorial board includes: Jennifer Katz & Annie Yaris (co-Editors in Chief); Samantha Berek (In-Depth); Olivia Blackwell & Caroline Sekel (Opinions); Brigid Lynch (A&E); Alycia Storch (News); and Michael Nitti (Sports).

The ’15-16 design team includes: Jared Kofsky (Photo Editor); Alexis Caruso (Art Editor); Ben Reichman & Alec Tyson (Design co-Editors); Alex Rafkin (Design co-Editor on special assignment); and Ty’rese Hutcheson, James Robins, Catie Wong, and Brandon Fitzsimmons (Designers).

Advisers for The Columbian are Cindy Malhotra and Joshua Enyeart.

Click on photos to enlarge:

Related Articles