Arts & Culture Maplewood Schools / Kids South Orange

Columbia High School Students Honored at the SOMA Film Festival

Several Columbia High School students received awards and were finalists at the 2018 Cinema Ed Young Filmmakers track of the SOMA Film Festival on Sunday. CHS students recognized were:

  • Grand Prize Jury Award winners for Narrative Short were juniors Aidan Romanaux and Max Goldstein for “Max’s Candy Crush.”
  • Grand-prize RUNNER-UP for Documentary Short was junior Max Goldstein for “Village to Village.”
  • Grand Prize RUNNER UP for Animated Short was junior Christina Wright for “Space Attack.”

CHS Students among the Finalists were:

  • For Narrative Short: Senior Sophia Heriveaux and 2017 graduate Ben Kruger for “Words for Hermit Boys.”

For Animated Short:

  • Sophomore Ethan Halperin for “Cellular Life”
  • Freshman Andrew Campbell, “Fosamiso”
  • Senior Sophie Goodman-Merel, “Super Convention”
  • CHS Junior Jessica Helfenstein was part of the finalist film “Quiet Time,” submitted by a student from Livingston High School

CHS students receiving Honorable Mentions were senior Sophia Heriveaux, sophomre Cameron Lipp, and Aidan Romanaux and 2017 graduate Ralph Ravix.

Aidan Romanaux, senior Rostam Cole and grad Cassie Hui were among those who received storyteller citations.

The field of competition was international in scope with entries and finalists from China, Iran, Washington D.C, Texas and California. The Grand Prize Winner in Documentary Short was Madelyn Barkocy of Morris County School of Technology in Denville, N.J., for “What do you Desire?” The Grand Prize winner for Animated Short was Alex deRosa of Millburn High School for “Lyric.”  “Jade,” a documentary by Austin Kwok, Sean Bai, Ian Walker and Tony Huang of the International School of Bejing in China, was also a Runner Up honor in the Documentary Short category.

Full list of finalist films can be found here:

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *